Is Your Healthy Diet Killing your Chance at Quitting Smoking?

in #steemstem7 years ago

Does a electronic cigarette need to derive it's nicotine from tobacco? Is the nicotine content of common vegetables equivalent to second hand smoke? You may be surprised to learn that electronic cigarettes do not need to contain tobacco at all and can deliver nicotine in the form of vegetable nicotine. 


As a former smoker I always noticed that I had a real craving for cigarettes after food, especially during the summer months. My diet was high in tomatoes and green peppers, two veggies that contain nicotine. The levels of nicotine in these vegetables may have little to no effect on a non-smoker but to one who is highly addicted to nicotine it may be the very thing that keeps you smoking. 


I had learned this information almost ten years ago but it wasn't until I switched to an electronic cigarette that I started looking into what was in my e-cig juices. Most people would just assume that the nicotine was derived from tobacco and for many of the larger distributors it is as it is much cheaper to buy. I lucked out and found a company that sold nicotine derived from Nightshade vegetables and paid the extra to get the better product. There has been tons of research into nicotine and the benefits that it has on the human body and these facts are often lost when the discussion of cigarettes comes up. That is fine with me as the disadvantages of burning the 8k + different chemicals in a cigarette far outweigh the benefits of nicotine.


Now to discuss the different vegetables that contain nicotine and how using vegetable nicotine while dropping cigarettes for an electronic cigarette may be the way to go. According to the New England Journal of Medicine some vegetables contain as much nicotine as being in a room full of second hand smoke for three hours. They also note that the absorption rate is different but to an addicted smoker trying to cut all nicotine out of their life could indeed be getting enough nicotine to sabotage their efforts to quit. 


These are just some ideas as a former smoker that need to be taken into consideration when one is trying to quit smoking and eat better at the same time. Some foods should be avoided in order to eliminate nicotine from ones body during detoxification.  


Some information pulled from http://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJM199308053290619 the rest from personal experience and research.


Let me know your thoughts, this is my first steemstem post and I am excited to see the acceptance it receives. 

Sort:  

Loving posts with actual content, this is information i never heard, fantastically interesting, thanks for sharing.
I am vaping for 1 year now, NEVER heard of nicotine in veg. Much love.

Let's hope we don't find out later Vaping is worse. I have been vaping since 2007. I am back to being able to hold my breath underwater for almost 3 minutes. It feels nice to not cough up yuck all the time too.

Great information, thanks

You're welcome.

really interesting information. I consume a lot of tomatoes and I did not know that the rate of nicotine was high! thank you for this information

I am not saying they are a bad thing, it needs more study. I wonder if vegetables being ate throughout childhood make one more likely to smoke as a habit once older. It is one of those studies that would take years to compile and results may not help. It is fun to think about.

I have never smoked nicotine but I seem to have consumed loads unknowingly. Thank you for educating me on veggies with nicotine! :D

Passing information is all we can do, I am glad people are finding it useful.

Thanks for the post some Interesting Stuff! Never knew some foods actually contain Nicotine, I thought it was just in tobacco!

As did I before finding the information. I wonder why it isn't basic knowledge in the world. We have always been told nicotine this, nicotine that, eat your vegetables......lol.

Yea it is quite ironic hahaha your article made me think of a old Simpsons episode (season 11 episode 5 ) in the episode Homer made a cross between tobacco and tomatoes was a very funny episode now I know there is truth in it!

Oh my, the Simpsons strike again!!!

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @steemstem-bot.

LitasIO

Well done! This post has received a 25.00 % upvote from @litasio thanks to: @steemstem-bot. Whoop!

If you would like to delegate to the @LitasIO you can do so by clicking on the following link: 10SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63683.34
ETH 2754.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64