You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your Body, Yourself: Part 2 (Final)

in #steemstem6 years ago

Your article shows that there was and is a vast variation of techniques and reasons for altering the body/skin. May it be for cultural or beauty related intentions, it is fascinating.

Human skin as a canvas and a message.

I did a tattoo in my twenties just for the fun of it and for having been curious if I could endure the pain. Also it was partly a hidden rebellion towards my "authorities" and maybe something I did not know. Also, I guess, I was doing it for missing something deeper in my own culture which did not provide rituals with a certain meaning other than going to church. From what my former part of "me" thought and felt this was an experience, a chance I rarely was able to catch. So I got myself into something which was available at that time and less risky as other activities.

To give and receive meaning through body appearance in our "modern" times I compare for example movie actors from today to those in the 70s and 80s. The outer appearance also followed a certain "sameness" of hair- and body-style which points into the direction of becoming "cover-like" - people try copy perfect photographs. This is a trend originating from the world of movies, the "Hollywoodization" of people:) - Does it have a deeper meaning? I don't know. I would like you to answer on that.

Thank you for providing this thought provoking content!

Sort:  

I also have tattoos, but mine was done to represent a certain point of my life either after an achievement or a better understanding of the idea of life. They are more symbolic tattoos rather than for body decoration:)

To give and receive meaning through body appearance in our "modern" times I compare for example movie actors from today to those in the 70s and 80s. The outer appearance also followed a certain "sameness" of hair- and body-style which points into the direction of becoming "cover-like" - people try copy perfect photographs. This is a trend originating from the world of movies, the "Hollywoodization" of people:) - Does it have a deeper meaning? I don't know. I would like you to answer on that.

The section " Images and Perceptions of the Body", in Your Body, Yourself : Part 1 covers this question quite well:)

:-) done! I've read it and it gives answers to my question. Well done! I really enjoyed reading it.

Reminds me on the fact that J. Lopez insured her beautiful back "thing". LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71191.31
ETH 3811.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48