You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who's that bunch of people in your head? How to meet the highest authority in yourself.

in #steemstem6 years ago

:) Thank you for commenting.
You made me aware that I should have added that in the scenario in which the inner voices come forward, it is usually one where one is torn - so more strong feelings are associated with it than when it comes to superficial decisions.

So I'm giving you another scenario that might make you feel stronger:
It's Christmas Eve and you want to get one last gift and only have 20 euros left in your wallet. A beggar is sitting in front of the door of the mall. How do you react to him? Do you have conflicting feelings about this? What does which voice say?

Or another: in the subway, a young woman is molested by a man. Do you decide to intervene or not? What do your inner parts say?

Does that change your answer?

Sort:  

mmm I see, I suppose that in both cases it would help people, I am very prone to help, as long as it is not compromising my family, if the gift is for me, it could help the man, if the gift is for a loved one, then probably not. I may also intervene in the subway to help the woman, but in both cases, I would not literally feel a voice, but rather a natural impulse to do one thing or another. I think that such a thing as a voice, only comes to me when I have to pose a more existential internal problem.

interesting.

it would be worth investigating a little more with what character you actually would describe these natural impulses. Because, when they differ from each other, you can already give them a name. When impulse A says: "Yes, help that woman because she needs protection" and another impulse B says: "But it can be dangerous to help her because this man could get aggressive towards me" you have two different voices. Also, a character C can come up, saying: "I am tired. Just turn around and look the other way"

Does this occur to you? Maybe when you focus on the moment you hesitate a little on a decision - which is actually something likely to happen with the scene in the subway.

What do you say?

I think that only the resolution of the conflict between all those impulses would come to me, but yes, it is possible that it is as you say.

Great! That's exactly I was pointing at in my article: to become aware that one has something like a "highest authority" or as you say: a resolution. In order to see and become conscious about ones impulses. In particular, when one becomes aroused or insecure, this "inner appointment" with the resolution part can be extremely helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71