You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EGYPTOLOGY: All hail the king!

in #steemstem7 years ago

Great article, as always. Do you know how many "She's" there were in the era of the Pharaos?

Have you ever read the book "Ramses"? It is a novel but I was reminded on it when you said that the Pharao had to be in a good shape and did some training. It was part of that book, too.

I can recommend it. There is one character which is quite unique, it is the ambassador and diplomat "Akasha", I guess, was his name. It was during the conflict with the Hittites (don't know if I get it right), when I remember that correctly.

Sort:  

Absolutely right. Ramses II. was in war with the Hittites and when both parties were exhausted one time they signed the first peace contract of the world - one version written in Cuneiform and one version in Hieroglyphs, which - of course - claims Ramses to be the winner (that was surely not the case). This ist what we know from historical records.
I never heard of that novel yet. I like such stuff when facts and fiction are mixed. ;)
I don't know exactly how many real Pharaos were female, but I think there were only a handful of such leaders. But women played nevertheless a great role even in politics. Maybe I will write something about women's power in one of my next articles. ;)

Ramses "Der Sohn des Lichts" von Christian Jacq - There are altogether five book volumes.
I am pretty sure you would like reading it.

Glad, to maybe have inspired you for your next article:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59317.93
ETH 2530.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47