You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Surviving the Holidays. Psychology Christmas Special

in #steemstem6 years ago

There are useful messages in your text (and I like your choice of pictures:).

In particular I find, this one:

However, if you are of those people who believe that the world is a just place, you are optimistic about what future holds and it’s up to you to make it easier for others, just keep it that way. This is an illusion which many of us have, but it is a good one. Believing in the “good” of the world makes you more adjustable, contributes to your well-being and even helps you to cope better with an unjust fate.

So sometimes being a full-time skeptic is not the best thing for your mental health.

This is a useful point of view. We move the world by our will. What we want, we do. What we think, then we act. To regard the world as a cynic or skeptic is a tiresome habit that can also be discarded. In each of us hopeless and hopeful moments mix and we can always decide which wolf to feed.

Everyone can observe very well how much he is taken in by what he is concentrating on. The pain feeding is as great a force as the encouragement. Life needs courage and confidence. It is up to all of us to feel this encouragement within ourselves and to carry it into the world.

Christmas has not been a stressful event for my family for a long time. We have stopped overburdening ourselves with presents, but eat and cook together. I didn't grow up in a material tradition anyway. For my parents, consumption was always just a necessity, not something to make themselves richer.

I learned from them that physical and spiritual well-being is based on community. The way of communication was not always very elegant and I needed something to get behind it. I myself live rather modestly. My son receives much more material attention than I have ever received. I think I have made a certain adjustment, but I am confident that I have given him some of the values that shape him. He will learn the rest on his own.

Furthermore, I agree with you that one gives what others want. He who knows someone well also knows what another person's material desire is.

One question: Why do you use the disclaimer at the beginning? Is it because you wrote under the steemstem-tag?

Hope, to speak to you before Christmas. So I will place my wishes later to you.

Sincerely,
Erika

Sort:  

Hey there, Erica! :)

Thanks for your lovely comment! I haven't been raised with a focus on the material aspect of life. I hope we manage to do the same for our son and give him the values you are talking about :)

I agree with you that how one goes through life is a matter of perception and a balance between the positive illusions one has and the reality.

I put the disclaimer because Christmas is a religious celebration after all and is "adopted" by the pop-culture. I discussed only some of the cultural aspects and didn't want to offend anyone by missing all the other aspects of the holidays. That's why I made the note just to make sure that everyone gets me right.

I wish a wonderful Christmas to you and your family! Stay healthy, fulfilled, and cheerful! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60767.97
ETH 2352.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51