You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Double Helix, Photo 51 and the Challenge of Priority: Who Gets Credit in Science?

in #steemstem5 years ago

That was like reading a very good story. I felt drawn into the academic circles, where it is like a race for novelty. That is a great driving force of man. To discover something completely new. To be the first. To enter the history books by name. I think each of these famous personalities has their ideas from other, less named and well-known personalities, even from some of whom they are not even aware of. The concealment of inspiration, knowingly and deliberately, testifies to small-mindedness, that is sad when a scientist is guilty of it. My niece, who has been in scientific circles - at the moment she is on parental leave - said that anyone who does not publish has no meaning. And so one must probably publish something and always be involved in some exciting research in this day and age. I wonder if this publication pressure doesn't have the exact opposite effect and doesn't simply inflate a lot of secondary stuff.

But in the back rooms and alongside the mainstream of established and recognized sciences, there are still the minorities who, as always, are more likely to endure shame and disgrace because they oppose something set and established with their crazy theses and ideas. Actually, it is not much different from the times when the Church was the opponent of science. Today it is their own ranks. So it is probably similar to scientific blasphemy to question the laws of nature and say: Couldn't it be habits instead of laws? Only the really disturbing, unsettling and annoying statements of new thinkers and inquisitive people brought the paradigms to change. Such things cannot always be observed in a single human life and take time.

But I have digressed. You have written a brilliant article which I found very revealing.

I would have asked you for the link as well and now Alexander has already done so.

And you are right about open source. I think it's actually a compliment if someone is using a phrase or a personal story of mine and shares it. Also, you go incognito here which is another indication of sharing your contents. Of course, the discussion about ownership never will end once you put all your finances and resources in and other people make a winning of your work. I have no answer to that. Just decide on my own how to handle it.

Sort:  

Thank you, Erika, for that generous appraisal. Competing is something I'm not good at. My ego is quite tender, but I'm so empathetic that I always feel for the loser in a game. No fun playing with me, ever.

As I explained to @samve, my coming of age occurred in the late '60s. There was a sense of fatigue over the materialistic 50s. Vietnam War was going strong. Then the government response to protests was so strong-armed. This experience helped to mold my attitude toward money and social justice.

This blog was a natural for me. Rosalind Franklin was treated so shabbily. The records of the men who won the Nobel Prize I think are stained forever by this legacy. And the idea of priority, that it is a defined idea in science--that was new to me. Just reading about Darwin last night and he refers to priority. I guess among scientists this is a common term.

I love it here, on Steemit, because I get feedback like yours. Everything else is a bonus.

Oh, I feel the same! Always holding thumbs for the underdogs. I hate competition when there is a "loser" or a "loser team". Why should anyone suffer from work or games?

Governments must perceive the people as intelligent and sensible. If the folks behave unintelligent, impulsive and stupid they must not wonder that the governmental institutions look down on them. That doesn't sound nice but has some truth. On the other side, peaceful protesters should be treated with respect.

Yeah, some characters were treated really shabby, that is also true. A lot of mistreatment and misinformation comes to light after some time, though. I guess it was a lesson good for something for those who suffered from this.

This platform is so much better than any other I so far encountered. It creates better bondage and co-working compared to single blogs or facebook & Co.

Defining events of my time: Kent State, assassination of Martin Luther King and the Vietnam War. There were more, but those stand out. Not history for me, but part of my experience. Wonderful to exchange ideas with you, friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95