You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "I AM DONNA - and I'm the hammer"

in #steemstem5 years ago (edited)

There is no way in preventing the owned things to stay forever in the hands of the owners. Sooner or later they will change hands. Either by people or by geological climatic changes. Right, that's a matter of fact. Why not acknowledge this fact instead of wanting to fight it with all might?

Buddhism is the only notion I have met so far which asks radical questions without being radical and violent. What I have found in Buddhism is that they do not talk justice but live by practical example in real life. Be it the abbeys or Buddhist centers or even communal projects like this one here:

Any form of attachment, is what Buddhist teachings proclaim, is problematic and creates suffering. That's a very radical notion, at least from what I thought reading it the first time. I haven't heard any kind of similar statement from other philosophies or religions. Something about it irritated me, made me even angry ... and I wanted to know why that was. So I dug deeper into the teachings. Maybe ten years it's ago and I still read the teachings and understand them differently from the first weeks and months.

Have you ever lost something which was precious to you? How did it feel? For me, I had a hard time to let go of the things I lost. It created bad and desperate thoughts and feelings. I was hating this kind of emotional state in which I clung to my belonging and I even blamed someone else in having displaced that thing. Or got suspicious about the intentions of others. Or cried over the loss. Whatever it was, it wasn't very helpful for human interaction to cling to a thing.

Now, things changed ... It is even difficult to formulate that "I lost my mother" (she died four years ago). It was no "loss", it was that she died. I did not lose anything. She raised me, cared for me, hurt me, helped me, made me angry etc. etc. I had her a certain time, so how can I lose her? While this relationship lasted, all had happened which happens to all people.

When I die, I will not "lose" my life, I will simply die. I live my life, not own it. Once I own my life, all kinds of problems come along. I am not the owner of my body, either. Yes, I make desicions for this body and I care or care less for it. I protect it as I do not want to have an accident and cause trouble for other people with it. Like giving them pains and sorrows which I could have avoided in being attentive in traffic and other situations. There is a difference between living with my body or owning it. Don't you think?

But my body is also host for numerous other living species. For viruses and bacteria, for worms and parasites, too. If you would talk about the human body in this way and investigate how much of it is actually "yours", you'll find out that you nurture a good portion of illusion about this ownership. You then have to battle against every thread which seems to be a thread.

Also, you cannot influence your heart beat or your breath. It goes on until you die. You cannot influence how your intestines work or your blood circulates and all that. If you could influence that, you could decide when you want to die, like stopping your heart beat by will, for example.

Does this mean, that I am nihilistic? On the contrary. I do protect myself from illness, stress and emotional arousal. I stay away from too toxic themes and influences. I try to think before I act. That's hard work, actually. I am far from succeeding in acting always ethical. I turn towards life and experience, I do use information but want to reflect and contemplate on that information.

I could say a lot more but want to leave it at that.

If you feel you are controlled by forces, I would ask you how can you deal with what makes you worry other than to spread information about the evil deeds? Is there another way?

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68