You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Brain: Meditation, Flow and Literati Art

in #steemstem5 years ago

To surrender to the flow and to be in a creative process is very enriching. When I look holes in the air in the morning silence and manage to think little, I have some creative ideas that I want to follow. I don't meditate according to the standards of the scientific findings you describe and which have been acknowledged by now, but I have my joy with it. Deep concentration on a creative process is perhaps the little sister of meditation. Patience and slowness are part of it for me.

I recognize your joy in what you do with the collages and how it lets you play.

Art, I think, has always been a part of humanity where the endless thought revolves around itself, not takes place. One is more concerned with getting involved with the work of art than with other distractions.

I really like the transformation of this image provided by Shaka into your creation.

Sort:  

My dear friend, Erika. You found my post on art and meditation. It must be that you influenced me, because you were in my mind as I wrote this. You are more practice than I am at separating yourself from the Western, goal-oriented perspective. Fortunately, I'm lazy, so am inclined to simply drift into reverie. My mind is really good at that. It's not the same as focused meditation, but it takes me away. Sometimes my husband shakes his head because I'm so far away. But I think it's one of the things that first drew him to me. He is so dramatically practical that I'm refreshing.
Yes, art is a free sphere. You don't have to be "good", just appreciate it, and do it. Nothing 'Western' about that.
Thank you for visiting and for your thoughtful comment.
Take care, be peaceful,
AG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59