You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chinese Pseudoscience #1: Acupuncture 针刺 - Part 1: History

in #steemstem7 years ago

Wow. This is really fascinating, since I'm surrounded by TCM believers, especially concerning the five elements. I don't believe it, but I don't believe the practice to be life threatening. But maybe you are talking about when people reject real research for curing the trickier diseases in favor of TCM?

The placebo effect though, very powerful for sure. Tricky with me, I wonder if my deep rooted disbelief prevents meet from reading placebo benefits. Actually I think it's partial-- I believe that there could be a placebo effect from a treatment, and that belief might be enough? Ha....

I am definitely surprised to find out about its timeliness and popularity spurred mainly by propaganda. Well, not surprised that it could happen, as their censorship gives them full power on fake news, but this is news to me.

The last question I had is whether or not there is something about relieving "pressure points", since it seems to at least have the perception of "something changing". Sometimes the needles play with sensitive nerves.

Sort:  

Thanks for the big comment!

I will answer your first question in the next post =P

I do believe placebo works even when a person knows its a placebo, there was some fairly recent research on the matter! Can't remember where though... I'll dig it up at some point.

The feeling of relief may again have some psychological effect, and acupuncture can work as a light painkiller of sorts (placebo-wise), but don't expect those pressure points to fix leprosy...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43