You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introduction to Cryptography I: Encryption (Pt. 4 - Block Ciphers/Modes of Operation)

in #steemstem6 years ago

@lemony-cricket, this is a great piece of work. I really commend u cos I know it's not easy researching and putting down something meaningful as this. But, I'd like to start the series from part 1, if you can be so chanced to send me the link I'd be very happy.

Thanks.

Interactive exercise

Below are two images; the one on the right is an encrypted version of the one on the left.
Woah! That doesn't seem right. Take your best guess at what went wrong here and explain how you came to that conclusion.

I don't know what went wrong. Lol.
But I guess the encrypted picture looks blurred and doesn't look sharper at the edges compared to the original picture.

Thanks.

Sort:  

Hi there @emperorhassy! Thank you for your kind words. You can start the series here:

https://steemit.com/steemstem/@lemony-cricket/introduction-to-cryptography-i-encryption-pt-1-the-caesar-cipher

I missed a link between the 3rd and 4th posts. For ease of navigation, you may access the entire series at https://lemony.cricket as well!

But I guess the encrypted picture looks blurred and doesn't look sharper at the edges compared to the original picture.

Hmm... not quite. Remember that the reason that we encrypt things is to make them completely invisible to others. Does the picture on the right look completely random? Or can you sorta tell what's in the picture? That should help you along. The full explanation will be in the retrospective on the next post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60583.13
ETH 2342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48