You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Critical review of acupuncture as a therapeutic procedure ; can we call it a placebo?

in #steemstem6 years ago

I will just leave this here:

There are indeed some studies which show a beneficial connection between acupuncture treatment after chemotherapy and its side-effects[8]. But researchers are aware of methodological weaknesses, so it can neither be confirmed nor denied, whether there is a clear indication of therapeutic benefits of acupuncture after all.

I agree with your general scepticism regarding acupuncture - I share it as well. But as it stands, it appears the correlated placebo-effect might have a positive influence in some situations.

Sort:  

And it does not hurt to do some research on acupuncture to try to understand if it goes beyond the placebo effect or not.

Funny to have the same discussion in 3 different places :)

The problem is we haven't had some research, we've had extensive research, and they just keep moving the goalposts, as I discuss above

Yeah, I actually don't follow closely. I agree. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64