Sort:  

I was wondering if someone would mention scihub. Without endorsing (or not endorsing) it, I'd like to mention for anyone using it that they should be wary of sites pretending to be scihub (whose url moves about), especially those that want you to install software. I've had more than one colleague from places without access to articles fall for that.

Recently many of the sci-hub domains got banned and the reliable one is sci-hub.tw only

I'm glad you mentioned Scihub @dexterdev.

Scihub is a very valuable resource for anyone who doesn't have access to the journal subscriptions of an academic university. It might be dubiously legal, but Journals that charge $40 to access a single article are not allowing for any reasonable options other than Scihub.

I completely agree with your point. :)

Hey @dexterdev, I was thinking about writing a commentary, but after talking to faculty about this business model I think that I understand why they charge for access to their journals. I mean, they have to pay for the servers, reviewers, etc. However, the price they charge is debatable. What would be cool to see is an "alternative" science journal that summarizes science articles on a more understandable level and spread them for free (kinda like here on steemit). Thanks for your comment. Cheers!

I don't think all journals pay reviewers. Maybe I am wrong.

I dont know. It also does not really matter. I am just trying to help people find what is available to them. Cheers!

Since you pointed out the reviewers being paid, I mentioned this.

That´s fair. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52