You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist #32 - Hypholoma fasciculare - Sulfur Tufts - Plus Practical Safety Advice For Mushroom Foragers

in #steemstem6 years ago

I thought I heard that wood loving mushrooms were mostly edible. I'm glad you got me the facts before I spread inaccurate data.

Sort:  

Oh, I wouldn't rely on that at all :)

One example immediately jumps to mind that is deadly poisonous - Galerina autumnalis or the Deadly Galerina. This mushroom is most frequently mistaken for Flammulina velutipes. They don't look a ton alike, but if circumstances conspire against you they can start to meet in the middle. Volk recommends a spore print for every single F.velutipe one harvests just to protect against possible mistakes.

The only general rule of thumb one should take seriously with fungi and edibility is that there are no sufficiently reliable general rules of thumb.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73