You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist - The Importance Of Fungi, Part 1: Saprobic Mushrooms, Eaters Of The Dead

in #steemstem7 years ago

This is awesome - but not a mushroom! These are sometimes referred to as Ghost plants - or Monotropa uniflora. They are deserving of a whole post themselves, but suffice to say they lack chlorophyll and instead steal the nutrients they need from nearby fungi underground! It’s common to mistake them for fungi go, very early on I did the same thing.

Sort:  

Thanks! 😊 I think I know why they call it a Ghost plant. It was pretty ethereal!

I've seen those in my area too, but orange colored.

Orange colored? I'd love to see a photo if you can get one next time

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65022.21
ETH 3560.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37