You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Human Chimera - Exploring human-human genetic fusions

in #steemstem7 years ago (edited)

Interesting post,
I guess people with double minds are also like emotional chimeras, lol.
I was thought of a single embryo dividing to form two identical twin, I've never heard of two embryos coming to form a single person. Was there not suppose to be rejection of each-other being that they are different cells?

Sort:  

Hi @damzxyno, good question.

Cellular rejection is caused by the immune system and in such an early stage of development (called blastocyst stage) the cells have not yet differentiated to form different types. So not only is there no functional immune system, but there's not a single cell in either of the groups that would act as an immune cell. As such they do not recognise eachother as 'different'.

Great question, I hope my response makes sense!

Yeah, Sure.
I guess these chimera in some ways could get away with crime.
Happy Sunday.

Haha it's possible I guess :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54