You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Barbie STEM Kit - Engineering a Spinning Clothes Rack

in #steemstem6 years ago

This post made me smile @crosheille... I never had a Barbie as a child and didn't want my daughters to get one... but then one of them got chicken pox and 'daddy' bought her a dolly. That is how it started. Then it was me making and knitting clothes for Barbie and all sorts. I am really glad that things have got better now and that there are these activities to do with children. The photos are great and I'm sure your daughter gained from the activity.

My daughters took part in Technocamps (here in the UK) so they did 3-D printing of minecraft creations and also used 'conductive' thread to sew lights on fabric things... All creative stuff and very good introduction to STEM for sure.

Sort:  

Thanks @cryprocariad! I didn’t want my daughter to have a Barbie at first either but when she turned 7 we decided to let her have one. That’s so neat that you started knitting and making clothes for the Barbies...I was just talking about that with my daughter. She wants to sew them some clothing. I too am glad they are coming up with more activities and learning projects for kids. I’m glad you liked the photos :D

The Technocamps sound like fun learning!

I think there's lots of possibilities when designing clothes that can include all the measuring and choosing the right fabric for the design, occasion and season - Nikki would love that 😉, @crosheille.
Incidentally I'm intrigued by the 'leaf print dresses' that you refer to above... That would be cool to see too :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66134.08
ETH 3556.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13