You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hacking into my gas condensing boiler

in #steemstem7 years ago

wow, awesome project, congratulations!!
It took me a moment to understand - please correct me if I got it wrong: The IC on the PCB is 'just' a switch to translate the RS232 signals into the appropriate levels for the optical components (in both directions). The microcontroller you mentioned will then be connected to the RS232 cable as a separate board.
Is there already a uC implementation for your specific boiler model available, or are you going to take German courses and do it on your own? ;)

Sort:  

You got it right. It's a converter that converts the infrared communication to rs232. There are some implementations for Linux (pi variants etc) but no real microcontroller implementatios I know of. The protocol is not too hard though. I'll add a link to the German site. I forgot that. I speak a bit of German and code/schematics/specs are sometimes in English.

sounds doable, indeed. Do you already have move precise plans on the hardware selection and the firmware functionality for the microcontroller board?

Well, since I have been busy with this idea since so long the available boards have changed too much. I'm thinking something simple with a wired Ethernet. Probably some AVR or ARM. Not sure yet. No Linux board, something bare metal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61