You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Water Intoxication: Yes! People Can and Do Drink Themselves To Death

in #steemstem6 years ago

Hi @raysmart. There were a lot of sentences which are similar to text within various websites on the net such as Quora and Scribd. This is an act of plagiarism and would not be tolerated within the steemSTEM community. In the future, you might want to consider making an original article.

Mentor_3.png

Sort:  

Hello @chloroform, asides the fact that i used nothing from the aforementioned websites in the course of my research, the use of widely known definitions, proverbs, idioms or whatsoever text is in no way plagiarism. Kindly withdraw your statements. Thank you.

Well, I have just quoted two possible websites to which you might have used. There were others. The similarities were uncanny. Let me just quote one sentence from Quora:

Liquid H2O is the sine qua non of life. Making up about 66 percents of the human body, water runs through the blood, inhabits the cells, and lurks in the spaces between. At every moment water escapes the body through sweat, urination, defecation or exhaled breath, among other routes. Replacing these lost stores is essential but rehydration can be overdone. There is such a thing as a fatal water overdose.

Try to navigate through your article and you will find sentences which are 80-90% resemble the sentences I've just quoted. Unfortunately, I didn't believe in coincidence when it comes to plagiarism. You still can make it up though. Contact your designated mentor.

Like i said, the use of widely used terms or definitions cannot and would never be referred to as plagiarism. Plagiarism is the use of an author's original idea which those terms you quoted are nobody's original idea but well known facts. See this which i even quoted as one of my references >>>scientificamerican
Please re-read my article and gain the knowledge. Thanks!

Dude, what he meant is your sentence's structure. Your sentences and NOT ONLY your terms or definitions were similar to some sources found on the internet. I don't think you understand plagiarism or what kind of crimes you have committed.

Dude, I don't think you understand whatever. SIMILAR is not SAME.

I don't think I have mentioned plagiarism means it should be the SAME. SIMILAR can be passed off as plagiarism especially when it is intended.

OMG please i intended nothing. I put in work and i wrote my article myself with quoted researched websites. Y'all are just unbelievable. This is science not some storybook writing.

Just leave him be @conficker. It was pointless anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63557.03
ETH 3400.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44