You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Aleutian and Pribilof Islands: Beauty, Tradition, Tragedy

in #steemstem5 years ago

Hey @agmoore2, thanks for discussing the issue of the Aleutian Islands. I often wonder when people say: "Besides Pearl Habour, no bomb was dropped on the US in WWII." Usually, I reply: "But what's about the Aleutian Islands?". And I'm always surprised that no one has them on their radar.

Anyway, very nice and rich article. This article covers many many various aspects from history over geography, ecology, etc. Therefore, it definitely deserves a STEm upvote.

I calculated some facts about the Aleutian Islands: The Aleutian Islands cover an area which is about 5% of Germany. But having only 0.1% of the population in comparison! It is a very wild place and this probably protects the natives from being expelled. Nevertheless, with all the vulcanos and cold (even though I was surprised that it's not that cold as I expected) perhaps most people don't want to live there. How can I imagine a city on the Aleutian Islands? They are probably different from an "ordinary" US city, right?

Concerning the migration: Did I got it right that the people settled there between 5000 to 15000 years ago? But the Indians or ancestors of South America came earlier, or am I wrong? Were they just not in the mood to stay? Or conquered they America from another direction?

The problem with the rats and foxes are really sad. I don't know whether I already mentioned it, but I lived in Tasmania years ago and they had comparable problems. But it's nice to hear that they were able to remove at least some of the rats.

Once more thanks to you very much for the article, I will upvote and resteem.

Have a nice weekend

Best

Chapper

Sort:  

Thank you so much, for reading and supporting. I feared the blog was too long, but felt I needed all of it to give a complete idea of the place, the people, and their history. So glad there are patient people like you who work their way through it.

Were they just not in the mood to stay? Or conquered they America from another direction?

The answer to this is worthy of many blogs. As I read, I learned that there is by no means unanimity in theories about how and when the earliest "Americans" arrived. Or even the Aleutians. There is one theory that the migration to Alaska and the Aleutians was by sea, coming from the West. This theory is not much in favor. Then recent discoveries in South America throw established dates and theories into doubt.
And then there's Thor Heyerdahl, who sought to prove the earliest Americans sailed from Mesopotamia.
The questions continue....

Most of the Aleutians are part of the Alaskan Wildlife Preserve. So I don't think large scale settlement would be possible, even if people were inclined. Today, only the indigenous people are allowed to slaughter seals, because the animals are protected.

As for Tasmania....
You cannot guess how interesting this is to me. I have earlier read (and have written) a small bit about Tasmania, as part of my exploration into effects of colonialism.
I even tweeted about Truganini
That must have been a fascinating experience. If I had a private jet (😅) I would visit that part of the world. The trip would be impossible for me now...I would never survive 😁
Thanks, again for reading and for the interesting comments. It seems every time a question is answered another tantalizing one arises.
Have the most wonderful, peaceful weekend.
Warm regards,
AG

Hey @agmoore,

There is one theory that the migration to Alaska and the Aleutians was by sea, coming from the West. This theory is not much in favor. Then recent discoveries in South America throw established dates and theories into doubt.
And then there's Thor Heyerdahl, who sought to prove the earliest Americans sailed from Mesopotamia.
The questions continue....

I also heard about things like this. In combination with aspects, we already discussed these theories could be proven.

Most of the Aleutians are part of the Alaskan Wildlife Preserve. So I don't think large scale settlement would be possible, even if people were inclined. Today, only the indigenous people are allowed to slaughter seals, because the animals are protected.

Yeah, that's good. Not only for the seals ;-)

It seems every time a question is answered another tantalizing one arises.

That's the curse of a good article. The better you attract peoples attention and understanding, the more comments and further thoughts a being added.

If I had a private jet (😅) I would visit that part of the world. The trip would be impossible for me now...I would never survive 😁

Try one of the big A380 planes! They are really comfortable!

A perfect remaining weekend also to you

Cheers

Chapper

A 380 ! Why didn't I think of that! Tasmania, here I come!

plane gif chapper2.gif
(That's your personal GIF 😄)

Thank you for your kind words--it makes a difference. Don't work too hard this week :)

Warm regards,
AG

So far it's ok!

Thanks

Chapper

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49