You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Mysteries #3: Are you Missing a Muscle?

in #steemstem7 years ago

I have it! This was a fun post, I had no idea this was a vestigial muscle and honestly it is a little surprising because it looks like it is doing something when it pops out like it is doing in your picture.

I am always a little skeptical when I hear a claim that a part of the body is "useless" or has no function - sure it might be true, or we just might not have figured it out yet... and often the latter turns out to be the case (see "junk" DNA, the appendix, etc.). When it comes to a muscle/tendon however it seems pretty straightforward - if removed is there a loss of range of motion or strength? It kind of blows my mind that in this case the answer is no.

Cheers - Carl

Sort:  

Thank you Carl! yes i agree with you on the skeptical side, I am a big skeptic myself too lol.
Recently the appendix, which was assumed to be useless, is apparently showing grounds for additional role in the human body mysterious workings! But as you said, Palmaris Longus is a muscle/tendon, which kinda makes it safe to agree :D
Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64689.27
ETH 3135.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56