You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Eta Carinae - Our Local Superstar

in #steemstem6 years ago

Hey , awesome post man. The Carina Nebula is one of my favourites to try and get a good shot of (now that I'm in the Southern Hemisphere anyway :) ) I hadn't really researched that much into it , so this was definitely a good read. I especially found that part about the stellar winds and the dual stars quite interesting.

Cool man .. thanks for this post :)

Sort:  

Its very easy to see in a telescope, and makes a good photographic subject. If you have a telescope try to see the homunculus nebula, it is one of the few objects bright enough to show distinct color in the night sky.

Hey Terry , thanks for the reply. I haven't actually looked through a telescope with my eyes in a good long while now. I've been into astrophotography for a good few years now , although I haven't clocked up that many hours , so really I'm just starting.

I've only just got my mount up and running again , as my controller bit the dust a while back, and now I've set up an old computer to control it , my camera and hopefully get some guided images this time :)

Pretty much all of my previous shots were single shots(no stacking) and unguided , so some success , some not :) . But yeah , I have gotten a few good shots of the Carina Nebula so far , actually the first thing I did after reading your reply was go back to some of my shots and look for the homunculus nebula , and sure enough there it was , tiny , but there. I hadn't even realized that was there before you mentioned it ... so thanks for that :) And I'll have to check with my eyes when I get out there again.

Great to hear @betelzeus. Some of these objects have traditionally gone unnoticed as the majority of guides/books have been written with a northern hemisphere bias. The first time I was shown the Homunculus nebula through a telescope I had been into astronomy for about 10 years and had no idea it existed. It was one of those things that goes unnoticed unless your looking for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 68516.58
ETH 3713.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74