You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: EGYPTOLOGY: All hail the king!

in #steemstem7 years ago

I am glad I stumbled upon your article. It is very interesting and I've learned a lot about ancient Egypt, so thank you and I am now following you. In your research and journey, what are the most fascinating discoveries you have come across? Have you learned anything that has changed your mind or opinion of written history?

Sort:  

Hi @belovebelight – nice name! ;) Actually, I am a normal archaeologist. Most excavations that excite me are not so spectacular for others since the stuff we bring out of the sands is often either fragmented or has not the appearance of a real "treasure" like the Tutankhamun tomb. ;) The most emotional excavation we had was once when we dug in a cemetery and found the 2.500 years old remains of a young woman with three babies. Fortunately, it was not my tomb shaft but the shaft of my colleague and we discussed this long until the night. But this happens quite often. Because where there is life there is death. And we are the witnesses of this tragedies of the past.
In general, my opinion about the Ancient Egyptians did not change at all. When I started to study this subject I was already open-minded. But my approach to gain knowledge for a deeper understanding of this culture got a twist: I was no longer satisfied with "opinions" of others. I needed profound scientific proof.
But what was really surprising to me was, when I - for myself - discovered the 3-dimensional language. This is really fascinating. And I am still researching. I have doubts that the hieroglyphs just came up suddenly out of the blue. There is a link missing and I try to find out the origins of this amazing language.

Thank you for the compliment and the response. It sounds like you truly enjoy your job, which is amazing! Adventure and learning new things; that is always a "yes, please" in my book! :)

I think it is amazing that you are open-minded. I can say that my mind has opened a lot over the past several years. To look back upon my life I cannot believe how close-minded I used to be. Once I began to travel the world and experience other cultures and learn about them, I began to have a greater appreciation and understanding of the world. Even if it was a small step, it was something I am truly grateful for and it was a huge eye-opener. I am glad you are able to have such wonderful experiences that lead you to knowledge and growth.

Hard evidence and proof are always the best way to go about things, especially in the realm of science, in my honest opinion. I can attest that even among religious beliefs I used to have when proof came to challenge my own opinions and beliefs I had to step back and let the evidence talk, begin to reflect and make corrections. It is wonderful you are able to dig deeper (no pun intended) and find the truths out there.

Language is by far very fascinating to me as well. I never could imagine reading hieroglyphs so I think that is amazing, kudos to you! I am looking forward to seeing more of your journey here on Steemit. I hope you are able to uncover many mysteries to help us as a human race better ourselves and learn from History. Be well and I wish you success in your endeavors!

Thank you so much! Your words are touching. <3
I am planning to give a hieroglyphs-lecture exclusively for Steemit, but it is still in the making. I am sure, you will be able to read some hieroglyphs after. Stay tuned. ;))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59317.93
ETH 2530.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47