You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MRI Scans and How They Work?

My son had to have an MRI scan on his brain a couple of years ago as he had a head injury that resulted in fits and they thought he may have brain damage from falling off his bike. (He was sent out with a helmet, but decided to take it off as he decided he didn't look cool with his mates!) I was allowed to stay in the room with him as it was pretty scary. It was so loud that I had to wear ear defenders and the whole process lasted about half an hour. They are amazing machines and a great help in diagnosing brain issues. I was so grateful to our NHS for providing the scan to my son. Luckily he was fine and everything turned out ok, but the scan was a vital part of the exploratory assessment.

Sort:  

yea they can be a great help, if only the sounds were lower lol
and glad to hear all went well with your son !

They wanted to check for rupture in brain blood vessel? Why did they do the MRI?

i dont know their reasons I am not a doctor. I remember them talking about brain swelling, perhaps that was what they were looking for? I was just grateful they were trying to help my son

Perhaps it was cerebral edema cause of traumatic injury. I'm a medical student, that's why I'm like interested 😅 Glad your son recovered!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66697.56
ETH 3490.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17