Sort:  

Yeah. In northern countries like Europe for example, there tends to be a relative lack of vitamin D among individuals because of poor sunlight and so these indiviaduals tend to make up for this by tolerating lactose so as to take more milk to supply their vitamin D requirements. In southern countries, sunlight is very adequate and vitamin D can be gotten from the sun. Individuals here tend to show certain levels of intolerance to lactose as they rarely ever have vitamin D deficiency and so have no pressing need for milk to supply vitamin D.

But wouldn't this go back before Vitamin D was created in milk? I believe they artificially add vitamin D to milk, I don't think it happens naturally in the milk. So I don't think this is why northern country people are lactose tolerant.

The sun produces vitamin D so people in the southern part of the globe can have vitamin D supplied steadily as they are much more exposed to sunlight unlink people in the north who rarely get adequate sunlight. Natural selection kicks in and people in the south do not need alternative sources of vitamin D so the lactose enzyme is not really a requirement. I’m however open to different opinions but this is my source of information here

That's not what I'm talking about. I'm saying I doubt that is the reason why those in the north have the lactose enzyme. Vitamin D in milk is a man made process that I doubt was present back in the days.

Oh I get your point. If couldn’t possibly be the ultimate reason. It’s more of a speculation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56