Lunar eclipse

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Lunar eclipse


A crypto project which sets stakes of its users to zero has nothing to do with the basic ideas of blockchains and cryptocurrencies.
It's a shame to run down such a project and let it go to waste in that way.
As funds on STEEM aren't safe anymore, I moved all over to HIVE.

Sort:  

Excellent explanation Kevin of this once in a lifetime event. I'm so happy you managed to get those images.

The animation is just perfect. I haven't used blender in years. Works very well from this example.

I'll share this to my followers. I'm sure some of them will be interested. @astrophoto.kevin

Thank you very much for your warm words and the resteem @molometer
I have to deal even more with this "blender adventure". It is very complex and demanding.

Blender was never the easiest program to work with but it can do incredible things once you master it.

Looks like you have a good understanding of it's potential already. 😊

The potential of Blender is enormous. I think I will take a lot of time until I could master so that something usable will be put out in the end. :-D
I now have 3 weeks holiday and think that I will go through the whole tutorial series of blenderguru.

That's a good idea as you can practice as you learn and you could even output your efforts as blogs if you felt so inclined which may help other people to see how to use blender.

That's a good idea, but first I need some skills. And I think this will take some time. Some long time. :-D

Time is the most precious thing we have. Good to use it very wisely. :)

You are so right :-)

I tried to do some captures, but I was a bit to optimistic with the exposure time. Nice work Kevin!

Thank you very much David :-)
oh, are the photos overexposed?
Do not worry, in January is already the next lunar eclipse. :-)

Thanks Kevin. All in all I would say, I was a bit untalented. As I put out the cam I saw the first mistake. The 300mm lens was mounted on the D80, not on the D7200. With the noise level of the D80 and ISO800 the result was not amazing ... and 2s exposure time was to long. I should better go with 1s ... but not at ISO 800 ... . I will do it better for January :-)

Greetings, David

I know such situations too well. Everything is prepared or already running and then a small mistake paralyzes everything. One day I forgot my Bathinov mask in front of the telescope :-D

I also hope to can make some things better in January :-)

Pfff, you should have denolished that house the day before, you missed such a spectacle :P

Great photos and explanation by the way!
And that gif is really helpful :)

Thank you very much for your kind words @ruth-girl
I am glad that you find the gif helpful.

Haha... I've been close to it often, but I have changed my mind because otherwise, I would be busy the whole night with the demolition. :-D

Ok, so these are the pictures you announced as "ugly" in your reply to my really ugly approache? :)

Well, we live in two different photographer worlds.
I would danced to the moon if i was able to take such astonishing pics. Well done, Sir!

Thank you very much for your kind words @argalf :-)
The source material did not look very promising. Unfortunately, I was able to use around 10% of the data I collected and I also had to do a lot with photoshop.

You will see, the next lunar eclipse will be a lot better :-)
And to call your moon ugly is not right. ;-)

And to call your moon ugly is not right. ;-)

Ok, next time i'll be a little more older an even more wiser... :)

Me too, so everything will work better then :-D



This post has been voted on by the steemstem curation team and voting trail.

There is more to SteemSTEM than just writing posts, check here for some more tips on being a community member. You can also join our discord here to get to know the rest of the community!

Congratulations @astrophoto.kevin! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @astrophoto.kevin!

Your post was upvoted by utopian.io in cooperation with steemstem - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98