Telemarketers are interesting, sometimes I end up listening to them for something to think about

Sometimes I end up listening to what they have to say, just so I can get an idea of what people are actually hoping to accomplish.

Today I got a call from a cop asking for a donation to a cause. They wanted funding so that they could punish criminals who injure cops. They didn't specify how though. I ended the call with a nice "This isn't a cause I would support" and hung up.

Studies have shown that the size of punishment isn't what has the most impact, the likelyhood of getting caught does. (In fact, the punishment has a negative impact overall.) Since in this situation it is very unlikely that an increase in likelyhood of getting punished is even possible, the only reason they want this is to hurt people that do something that is considered a social stigma in their eyes. The choice of words was interesting too. They didn't say anything other than "criminal", which as you can probably guess, is dehumanising. You can see their goal was never to help people, only hurt.

If I could go back I would have probably asked a question or two. I would really be interested to see how they respond to "do you think criminals deserve a right to vote?".

Sort:  

Curated for #informationwar (by @commonlaw)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 8,000 Steem Power and 20+ people following the curation trail to support our mission.

  • Join our discord and chat with 200+ fellow Informationwar Activists.

  • Join our brand new reddit! and start sharing your Steemit posts directly to The_IW!

  • Connect with fellow Informationwar writers in our Roll Call! InformationWar - Contributing Writers/Supporters: Roll Call Pt 11

Ways you can help the @informationwar

  • Upvote this comment.
  • Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP
  • Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

I wouldn't trust it either. I mean, cops already punish "criminals", you know, the ones that fail to follow any command a cop says without question. Those people are the ones they call criminals, and they want to punish them, naaah, I don't trust it either.

I was interested in your response to telemarketers. Unless they have a really thick skin, that's a hard job. I know...I've done it. It's been many years, but once I lasted all of a day and was profoundly depressed when I went home. So I'm glad you listen to telemarketers. Mostly, they get paid very little and everybody hangs up on them. As long as they're not rude and aggressive, I give them a couple of minutes out of my day. Of course, if they're spouting hate, they don't get my ear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05