You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do Transsexual Persons Have An Opposite-Sex Brain?

in #steemstem6 years ago

"I, for one, am unconvinced and confused. I'm on the verge of feeling gender-dysphoric."

did you just try to make a joke out of gender dysphoria?

Sort:  

Only in the same way that I made a joke out of Reimer killing himself with a sawed-off shotgun. I actually thought about linking to this @trumpman post comment of mine to give the rationale, but then saw it was given in Greek.

Basically, Ricky Gervais, in Humanity, had a routine where he talked about how he and his brothers tried to have fun at his mother's funeral. One of the pranks involved his older brother giving the priest the wrong name for the younger brother when the priest asked for their names. So whenever the priest mentioned the name of the brother in his service speech, it was the wrong name. And he and Gervais were pissing themselves in the back while the brother sitting in the front row shook his head...and then his shoulders as he started laughing too. Gervais described it as a coping mechanism when confronted with the unbearable sadness of death. If you can laugh at death, he said, then you can deal with anything.

Now I wouldn't do what he did, but I'm generally opposed to political correctness. While researching this article and reading all those stories, many times I just had to stop and sigh and bury my head in my hands and try to collect myself. I hope I don't come across as insensitive with my jokes, since I know that's not how I feel.

The original Greek term for dysphoria, just like the term moron, is much more common than in English and just means 'hard to bear'. We use it for instance when it's too hot outside. I wanted to say that I was feeling dysphoric from all this back and forth in the research on gender. There was a paper that I read 3 times to fully understand it.

dysphoria ... when it's too hot outside

Thanks for improving my Greek vocabulary for this summer.
ηλιοσ λαμπει
χωρις σινεφα
dysphoria ...

*σύννεφα
*ήλιος
*δυσφορία

You are welcome

Thanks

lol

😄

Man, how do you find time for Greek on top of everything...

There is no good summer without Greece *(sorry Montenegro and Croatia), and every time I learn some new words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25