You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The secret Jedi life of the Virus - HIV as screwdriver for manipulating genes.

in #steemstem6 years ago

Very good job @scienceblocks, it's the second time you amaze in a few days. While I am not a microbiologist, I know a great deal about this virus which I think that should finally be stopped soon. I am following the updates with interest.
In Romania, the medical system inoculated 10 to 30 thousand children with a HIV contaminated vaccine in 1986-1992, before it was even known.
I have crossed paths with some of these "children", now adults trying to live a normal life. I was so impacted by this as I was just "lucky" not to get it and researched all its details in my own time. The stigma and effort on their part is enormous and could make you cry for weeks.
It is why I have joined IBM's World Community Grid in cooperation with the Berkeley University -> BOINC, to compute on ways to inhibit the transmission on a distributed project.

I have computed 12 years of running time to it, from its start until now.

Now regarding your article, it is a great way to bind together fun and being educational for the ones who know exactly how this would work, while also keeping it a good read for just about anyone.
Keep this up and you will have everyone's respect!

Sort:  

Hey, thanks for this valuable comment. I am not a microbiologist either. I specialize in cell biology. I use this virus as a tool to understand role of certain genes in certain functions of cells.

And BOINC project looks pretty cool. At least it makes peow put their computing power to some good use, rather than calculating random hashes in bitcoin mining.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71103.43
ETH 3849.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51