You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Electricity and Understanding the Batteries [Building a Quadcopter#2]

in #steemstem6 years ago

We can't see the gif.
Other than that I think that we still need better batteries and a little more education. I still see people buying phones with Li-Poly batteries and after a year or so complain about the fact that the battery dies mid-day.
I had hoped that Tesla would be the leader with those 18630 batteries and subsequent research but this was still not implemented.
The 18630 batteries are indeed amazing but the lack of marketing still means that much of their uses are limited.

This is probably the reason why I don't yet own a quadcopter. I got tired of having a GoPro with 40 minutes of battery-time, and fidgeting cases and batteries after each descent is taking away from the fun. I think it's the same with quadcopters, I don't want to fidget it every 18 minutes :D

Your education in the field is welcome, if only more people would read it.

Sort:  

Hi @alexdory ! Thank you for your comment :)

Oh, it worked on Busy, I will add this link

Other than that I think that we still need better batteries and a little more education. I still see people buying phones with Li-Poly batteries and after a year or so complain about the fact that the battery dies mid-day.

Yes, much more research is needed on batteries. Many people do not realize that batteries have a (very) limited lifespan and that they cannot tolerate being over-discharged for too long or too many times but phone manufacturers also exploit this by prohibiting battery replacement.

I had hoped that Tesla would be the leader with those 18630 batteries and subsequent research but this was still not implemented.
The 18630 batteries are indeed amazing but the lack of marketing still means that much of their uses are limited.

I had the same feelings... 18630 aren't perfect but have made good improvements and I hoped Tesla would do more research and marketing.

This is probably the reason why I don't yet own a quadcopter. I got tired of having a GoPro with 40 minutes of battery-time, and fidgeting cases and batteries after each descent is taking away from the fun. I think it's the same with quadcopters, I don't want to fidget it every 18 minutes :D

It's even worse with this kind of quadcopter, these are very powerful ones and one battery only last about 5 minutes ^^ (but breaks are welcomed when you have to focus all your attention on flying :) ) At full throttle each engine uses about 300W (which gives about 1200W just for engines on accelerations) but it allows us to reach quite high speeds (around 100 km/h with the components I have chosen).
It's something I knew before I even started (and it makes me think I didn't mention it in this article, I'll add a little something about it).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67073.12
ETH 3507.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18