You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sustainable Development #16 Pollution of the environment

in #steemstem7 years ago

Great article, we all know that but we need to read it every so often!
I am fighting people's and the state mentalities for over 10 years. We can also do our part for this but it's hard and not possible for everyone to do everything:

  • Drive an electric or a low emission car, many cars have under 99grams of CO2
  • Switch incadescent light bulbs with LED ( filament if possible ) due to excellent ratio or lumens/watt
  • Recycle ( Plastic, Metal, Glass and Paper )
  • Don't throw used cooking oil into the drain
  • Choose products with recyclable packaging
  • If you are a little crafty buy solar cells ( they cost 10$ per 100W ) and you can solder them by yourself in a DIY project
  • Replace old appliances and TV's or monitors with new ones that are energy efficient.

The Townhall office in my town has removed the recycling recipients from the town and nothing can make them change their mind. It's cheaper for them to pay the fines set by the European Union that to deal with segregated trash. The politics are bad and I have to drive a lot with my recyclables in my trunk but it's possible. The neighbors think I am a weirdo stuffing my car in :)
We have a lot of power and relying on the government is useless here.
I trust in our own morals and powers though!
If you have any questions just ask me!
Have a wonderful night!

Sort:  

Creating a less polluted environment requires the participation of everyone on the planet, which we know is difficult. But we have to try to the best of our ability. Thanks for reading my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.11
ETH 2323.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34