You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Mesozoic Cephalopod

in #steemstem6 years ago

As always you are teaching me stuff I had no idea that existed. I knew that cefalopods are sometimes presumed to have been brought via meteorites because of the very different way they are but I think that is not the case. But I do appreciate the unique ways in which they evolved and their intelligence. So Belemnitida order might have preserved some of its features and passed it on, or simply evolved after the Yucatan impactor hit.

Sort:  

I believe that they were not able to cope with the changing environment as well as the other cephalopods at the time, but that they passed on some of their genes to modern day nautiloids, at least.

I like the meteor/alien idea more though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59216.84
ETH 2526.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52