You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: IMMUNIZATION, BENEFICIAL OR DETRIMENTAL?

in #steemstem7 years ago

I am qualified to argue since I studied both sides. I finished a technical university, I know how the scientific research method works, I read a lot on the subject, pro and cons and I found the evidence enough for me to safely say that vaccination is beneficial for the individual and for the community with its herd immunity effect. My mother is a Medical Doctor with a PhD in Medicine so we also discussed a lot about this.
While each of us are entitled to their own opinions, one must not forget that some or most of the anti-vaxxers ( that i talked to-and i talked to a lot) do not have a clear scientific understanding of how it works, or why lead or aluminium exists in the vaccine and they get their data out of panic inducing media, that monetizes them for revenue. Add this to a low level of education in some and voila, the conspiracy theory has emerged. The existing biases were reinforced.

As for what Bill Gates said (that video comes with every conspirationist i met), he is referring to the link between population growth and the child mortality rate. As the child mortality rate drops, the next generations start making less children. This is a complete study I read a lot on.

You can find a video edition here to fully understand a part of the study:

I am open for more discussion, and indeed I am sorry for name-calling, but if the OP is wrong and he is hurting his child, is it anyone's fault?

In my country anti-vaxxing is starting to prevail, people stopped children from taking the measles vaccine and guess what : 10000 new cases of measles. Measles was almost extinct in Europe before. While this correlation is not a proof, I am starting to question who is to blame for the 36 children dying of measles. Because the televised mothers cries admitting guilt and lack of documentation (they said they heard from friends that it was not safe) is not something that brought them back to life yet.

Because one's liberty of choice ends right before another's right to live.
Don't let biases overcome logical thought.

Sort:  

You video of the professor is one I have shown to any who panic about the world populations growing to levels where we will collapse. I believe he has died. A pity, as men of reason like him are needed right now.

My biggest problem is the immunity vaccine manufacturers were given. I do not trust any corporation to behave in a responsible or honest manner (just think of the fact that for anyone to make his way up in the corporate ladder, he must be ruthless and a conniving son-of-a-b****.

I also feel strongly about vaccines becoming compulsory. Each parent has final say as to his own child and each adult must keep final say as to his own body. I am elderly, and in my days of childhood, the entire school would go down with measles and a week later we were all back to normal. I wonder when I hear children died, did they die because measles has evolved, or is it because the children are very weak because of the lack of nutrition and all the poisons in their foods.

During my over 70 years, I've had maybe four or five vaccinations (all pre-1980). Do you really think mankind has evolved so badly that we now need children to be vaccinated with over 76 vaccines by the age of 14? That babies really have to be vaccinated against diseases they are highly unlikely to suffer from? Why must the vaccines be administered at same strength for a baby as for an adult? Why so many in one go, instead of them being spread out? There are many questions but few who answer who are not either employed by the industry or financed in some way by Big Pharma - even professors working at universities. Every time info comes out that a professor who declared vaccines to be safe also benefitted financially, it makes even more people distrust everyone.

To revert to your video and the Bill Gates story - and keep in mind that I live in Africa. People stop having a lot of children because they become ambitious. They want a tv, a house, a car and so on. What is happening, as you've seen from the Africans flooding Europe, there is no improvement in life conditions, or here and there just a bit of growth. Vaccinating their kids is not going to stop them having too many babies. It is how the population grew so suddenly over the last 150 years.

  1. "just think of the fact that for anyone to make his way up in the corporate ladder, he must be ruthless and a conniving son-of-a-b****" - you just had an unhappy experience, we are not all like that. In fact I don't know of such a person among my workplace or friends. I am sure there are, but they are not as widespread as you think.

  2. The guy died from cancer - he was aware even in the video. He dedicated all his life to research in Africa and Asia

  3. "Vaccinating their kids is not going to stop them having too many babies. " no, not them but their children and grandchildren will be helped by living in a world without losing 80% of their family by the time they are 20.

I assure you it's not that bad and we will be fine as a species. I am also against mandatory vaccination but I would make the parents pay for the treatment of preventable diseases.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59