The Big Day Arrives! 1 Gig Fiber Internet!! But There is Trouble in Paradise...

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

After about two weeks of waiting, the day finally came. A pair of white vans appeared outside my home and instead of the FBI or something, it was the internet fairy! Do fairies deliver internet? I feel like maybe it would be goblins. Okay, the internet goblins. It is decided.

Installation, somewhat alarmingly, involved drilling a hole in the side of the house. But the electronics box that interpets the fiber optic signal stays with the house even if I were to move out, so it's a long term thing, which makes me feel less squeamish about it.

That guy sure is a lot more comfortable leaning a ladder on a power line than I would be. I guess he's done it enough by now that it doesn't spook him. Maybe don't try this at home, kids? Or do, I'm not the boss of you and death is a surprisingly affordable alternative to life these days. From a fiscal standpoint at least, there's a lot to recommend it.

Here it is all hooked up and working. After a bit of hair pulling I got everything set the way I wanted to in the router GUI. One tiny snag, though...Here's what I get when I plug my laptop into the modem via ethernet cable:

Meanwhile, here's what I get over wifi:

Kind of a big fucking difference, and a severe problem for me because this house isn't wired for ethernet. It's looking like I won't be able to get 99% of the speed I'm paying for without hooking my computer up to the modem directly, and it's two rooms away.

I think there's some kind of solution to this. Like a wireless box I can plug one ethernet cable into, and then a matching second box I plug another ethernet cable into which creates a high speed bridge between them. I am just unsure specifically what I need to buy.

The answer might eventually just be to downgrade my service to 45Mbps which will still be overkill compared to what I am actually able to use over wifi. But that's a last resort. Before I do that, I'm going to investigate solutions, hopefully ones which don't involve stringing dozens of feet of obtrusive ethernet cable all over the house.

EDIT: Problem #2 has arisen: The wifi connects and disconnects over and over. No idea what causes this but hopefully wiring my PC directly to the router will fix it, which is what I have decided to resort to.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

938 mbps is a monster, you can download the whole internet itself with that speed.

the guy with the ladder should start perform in a circus, I have never seen before such ladder techniques from electricians.

Cool bro alex. Hopefully with this facility can make the activity becomes easier. For speed is very fast. Have fun. The facilities I use for internet are wifi id and quota from phone provider. in india internet cabel is rarely used. but its stability is very good

how much such service cost and why do you need so fast internet, I have only 100mb download

$80/mo, but I split it 3 ways with roommates, so it's $26.60/mo for each of us.

I think it's a good price, I pay around $50 for 100mb

expensive or not brother,

You are right @alexbeyman. Very far difference between using wired internet and wifi. Like heaven and earth. How can it be like that? In my area wifi speed can reach 1.5 Gbps.

congratulations @alexbeyman im wondering how that guy managed to stay on the ladder i have never seen any guy staying on the ladder like that

Congratulations @alexbeyman. Definitely your productivity increases with the new high-speed internet network.

Lol, I was wondering how the guy managed to stay on the ladder then i saw the powerline and just as you said maybe death is indeed a good alternative to life, lol but I am not ready. The speed difference between the wifi and the ethernet is kinda alarm, is there no booster you can you or call those guys to come check it up?

Dude I am so Jelly 1Gb with 1ms ping times. That is like the transfer starts before you click on it.

I know the excitement of the internet fairy arriving! Uk has one of the crappiest internet and out of all of the providers I was stuck for almost 2 years with the worst one, not having internet 10-15 days a month sometimes.. As for the wi fi speed problem I hope you sort it out! It's a shame to let all that speed go to waste!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66503.40
ETH 3078.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70