Solar Powered Boat Race in Monaco

in #steemstem6 years ago

Apparently this has been going on since 2016. I don't know how I missed it, usually I'm on top of everything solar and nautical. I've written no small amount in the past about the unique suitability of watercraft for pure, direct solar power of their propulsion motors.

The 2018 race spanned three days, all of which will be seen here. I became aware of it by searching for examples of small, fast solar powered boats because of my interest in a project @adventurebuilder has undertaken to build a boat of this type.

Taking place between July 12 and July 14, the race proceeded according to this programme. The winners of the various classes are listed here. The modern solar boat races in Monaco are a continuation of a local motorboat racing tradition stretching back to 1901.

There were different classes for one, two and three seater watercraft. Some of the most successful, or at least the quickest, were hydroplaning boats that lifted themselves up out of the water on what amounted to water skis. This decreased the surface area in contact with the water, which in turn decreased drag.

The challenge, then, was generating enough power to hydroplane. That's no trivial task. The emergence of hydroplaning solar electric boats signifies a leap forward for clean energy watercraft technology. Perhaps one day I'll build myself a solar electric hydroplaning boat for use up at the lake. :)


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

@alexbeyman,
Dude I saw that before, but I have mix feeling about it! I hate it's weird look, but Free energy sources based is a great idea, specially while we are at the water!

Cheers~

I think what i am more interested here is the production of this both. From the looks of things , I think the both is powered straight from solar energy and not a battery because of the number of solar panels placed on the both. Now my question is How is this possible. The solar panel can only produce a small amount of energy, how is this energy able to power a boat Engin which ofcourse has a motor incorporated in it?

Because boats take less energy to move through water than a car takes to move over land. So even a small amount is enough. But really, that's a lot of solar panels in the picture. You're looking at a kilowatt, at least. That's about 1.5 horsepower. I wouldn't be surprised if it's more than that.

The other half of the solution is the careful engineering of low-friction hulls. They cause the least about of drag as they move smoothly through the water. This is how a relatively low amount of thrust is enough for them to hydroplane.

I think the obstacles in many panels make the display less attractive. that is the material to be developed into the future. True what Bro Alex said.

Good and informative posts. we must educate for the use of renewable energy. Solar sell is one solution for future energy.
thank bro alex, being my material for my students. thank you

Solar powered boat race?? How come I'm now hearing of this? I believe it's a great idea of mixing entertainment with sustainable use of resources.

Am so inspired reading this, i love cutting edge idea and innovations coming up. Its interesting to see solar been tested on water.

The question now is, what next?

Perhaps one day I'll build myself a solar electric hydroplaning boat for use up at the lake.

Thath will be great, i know you love solar energy and clean energy for that matter, do share with us when when rhat day finaky come

This is amazing, i guess we cam call it solar race then, the boats look kinda eerie and huge though

That is friggin awesome!
My hope in humanity is restored seeing a younger generation holding solar boat races. They will be prepared for the end of days.

It's called Waterworld people!

Now if there was only some sort of solar weaponry...

Please take my 0.01 cts upvote for your solar hydroplanning boat.

Do they build it themselves or bought it from somewhere?

what will be the easiest solar project i can try at home?
with no existing knowledge

Trying out solar panels for charging your phone. Many good ones exist on Amazon or Alibaba for cheap prices, but you will want a 5 watt panel at the absolute minimum. I recommend 7 watts or higher to charge the phone at an acceptable speed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50