[Gear Review] Eton Rukus Solar: A Sun Powered Bluetooth Boombox

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

Normally these babies go for around $200-$250 new. So when I saw one used for $56, I snapped it up. Well it certainly is used. The solar panel on top has loads of faint scratches on it. The glass protector does anyway, I hold out hope I can replace it with a new one. It's also missing one of the little rubber feet:

The underside has a nifty elastic sleeve for tucking your phone into. There's a 12 volt DC charging port if you want to charge it from a wall adapter, an aux input for phones without bluetooth, and a USB out so the solar panel on top can charge your phone at the same time as it's charging the boom box.

The readout is e-ink, which I thought was a cool touch. They could have gone cheapo LCD but I think e-ink requires even less power? It uses electricity only when changing some element of the display. That green LED illumination around the power button is many times more energy hungry.

How is the sound quality? Very good. Loud and clear. I can keep my phone in my pocket or backpack and control the playback from my watch. It's very easy to pretend the phone isn't even involved. I plan to get a lot of use out of this while camping this Summer. It'll be nice to not have to plug it into anything and just have it go forever on free solar energy.

Honestly if a solar panel will fit on some electronic device, it should be there. Why not? If a device is electronic and designed for outdoor use, there is no good reason not to have a solar panel built into it. Then again I am sort of a fanatic about this topic, haha.

I can't recommend you buy this new. The price is too much for what you get. But if you can score a used one for less than $100 and are likely to use it often outdoors, it's a solid buy. It's smaller than expected but on the flipside I can just barely fit it inside my backpack. Build quality is good, sound quality is good and the solar functionality makes it stand apart from other bluetooth audio devices.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

Cool. It's bluetooth linked as well!
Does it have enough juice to last through a Thanksgiving dinner?

I...guess so? What an unexpectedly specific question. If it's in direct sunlight it will run indefinitely. On battery alone I would estimate perhaps ten hours.

I like turning on Spotify when I invite friends over for dinner.

10 hours is fantastic!
Definitely more than sufficient.

Although small, I think this tool has many benefits and practical for outdoor. Moreover, available bluetooth and USB slot that makes it multi function. You're lucky to have taken it @alexbeyman. You will feel how useful the device will be.

Good information. But i can't recomended is a very good information too. Because not all the new ones fit with us. this is a very honest information. thank bro.
Stay cozy

Wow you bought it on good price
Lucky i would like to have one
It looks good for 56 $ \o/

Belive it or not, but while reading your posts when it comes to solar technology it just got me thinking and early this year I started buying few things with solar. Here is one of the items 😆.40ABD745-7D8F-4B20-925A-36B832D4E8B0.jpeg I already got it long time ago sitting in my basement and waiting to be used when the right time comes. Of course, I can use it to charge external devices as well.

Very cool. You'll be glad you picked that up when the time comes that you need it.

This is really amazing. I can't get one of these in my country. The solar attached to it makes it stand out as countries in Africa will be needing this

Hi @alexbeyman Thats a good boombox
I need to buy one soon
i went to the beach and it goes like boom :D
Good for that $

Wow, that's cool as hell. Closest thing I have to that is a little emergency hand crank/solar panel radio that I got for xmas several years back, lol. Where'd you find it used for such a cheap price though? You got one hell of a deal if they run around $200-250 new.

Solar panels are indeed solutions for charging in the future. Especially during the summer. Destroy us if we just miss the ultraviolet. May the little baby have enough space to accommodate plenty of sun. E-ink embedded in it is also sophisticated. This is progress @alexbeyman. You have nothing to lose. Profitable purchases.

I did not know such a thing existed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50