You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is the UK heading into its first ‘life expectancy recession’?

for the first time since the advent of modern medicine young people within the UK are predicted to live shorter lives than their parents

I actually suspected this was the case, judging from my own health and that of people I know, but I thought it would take more time till it showed up on the graphs.

Now that it's official, the interesting question is what's causing it. You did a good job covering some of the possibilities. I always think diet and meds are to blame, but it's mostly a hunch.

Clearly written, well-referenced, and interesting post 👍

Sort:  

Hey, thanks for your kind words.

I always think diet and meds are to blame, but it's mostly a hunch

Yes, usually a good hunch to have in my opinion. The medication angle might be an interesting one to look at for this. I wouldn’t be surprised to find out that this had changed over the last 10 years or so, it would be in line with the continuing privatisation of our health system. With diet, my feeling here however would be that we’ve passed “peak unhealthiness” and people were starting to move away from the “full-English fry up” of the past. But maybe that’s just my liberal London bubble perception showing through.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49