You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Amateur Mycologist - Another Tree Killing Fungus To Look Out For - Likely Armillaria Species Infecting My Favorite Trees

in #steemstem7 years ago (edited)

I have been responsible for 311 calls which resulted in the removal of four different old growth trees in NYC

I watched enough US movies to know of 911, but not 311: when I read this, I thought you actually made 311 separate calls!


This series always has a sort of mystery/detective-feel to them, it draws you in and keeps you reading to the end. Nice job. And you did your public duty in this one to boot.

P.S. I wonder if realtors have any special instructions regarding selling property to mycologists, given how they apparently bring down the value of the neighborhood by stripping it of trees! :P

Sort:  

Haha - Lucky for local residents, all of the trees I've reported and gotten removed are outside the place where I work, so local property prices have likely not been affected.

Oh, and 311 is a New York City specific municipal phone number you can call for free. It has a ton of information - it's not just for lodging non-emergency complaints - and I think it's underutilized by tourists. I even think they will answer in a variety of different languages as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57276.13
ETH 2437.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39