You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to live healthy? Part 5: What should I do?

in #steemstem5 years ago (edited)

This is exactly what I've been looking for lately! The information out there, in terms of books, is quite conflicting. Some say grains are bad for you (gluten, leaky gut, inflammation, intolerance, etc.), some say they're good for you, some say meat is good, some bad, some say legumes are good and should be eaten 3 times a day, some say they lock up nutrients, and so on.

I'm quite surprised that grains instead of veggies are on the top of your list! Could that just mean there's more studies on them?

Your results seem to agree with nutritionfacts.org , overall.

EDIT: And another question, regarding dairy. I def am intolerant to milk, even kefir. Anything too liquid. More than half a cup and my gut burbles from top to bottom. But I seem to be tolerating yogurt and cheeses just fine. My dad was the same: never drank milk, but ate yogurt and halloumi by the boxes. Is it possible that lactose is still harming me, but at a level that I don't notice it, due to most of the lactose not being present in the firmer products? Or is this a case where you can't say, I just have to listen real well to my body?

Sort:  

Hey Alex,

nice to see you here again.

And thank you very much for your reply.

Could that just mean there's more studies on them?

Of course, it could be the case. But the more data available the more reliable is the outcome.

About the problems with the milk

I do have the same problems. In many cheeses, the bacteria consume the lactose. Therefore, you often have no trouble with cheese. In the case of yogurt, I'm not sure. I'm buying lactose-free yogurt in general. But I know what you mean I often made the same observations that in some products which should be harmful to me I felt nothing. Whether this as to do with the consistency I can't answer. You should ask people who are more familiar with this subject.

Thanky you very much

and merry

X-Mas

See you next year

Chapper

Here in Cyprus we only have 2 real yogurts (i.e. milk + culture): strained Greek cow's yogurt (very thick), and slightly acidic sheep's/goat's yogurt (more runny). Everything else is what I call 'fake yogurt' (reconstituted milk, gelatin, protein powder, and these are just some of the things I can pronounce - I don't touch those). So maybe that plays a role, since thickness = less milk, dunno.

Merry Xmas to you too!

Ask your local good supplier whether he can offer lactose-free products. Here in Germany it began very slowly but today you get this stuff everywhere.

Merry X-Mas again

Chapper

Posted using Partiko Android

I tried lactose-free milk and it caused more issues than usual! I tried coconut milk with yogurt cultures, it was nice, but had all sorts of additives (even tho it was gluten- and lactose-free). Generally we don't have as much variety/choices here as in most EU countries.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62939.93
ETH 3116.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89