You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Double Helix, Photo 51 and the Challenge of Priority: Who Gets Credit in Science?

Very nice of Dalton to call the atom by its ancient name (though it turned out not to be indivisible!)

I like Merton's sociological analysis. I often thought about recognition being the only currency in a possible future economy where money wasn't really a factor, and whether that would work. I thought about open source as a possible real-life example of that, but I never thought of science proper.

Check this out. Very famous priority story.

I have an old post on Rosalind Franklin that I bet you'll enjoy! It's very pro-woman, unlike the stuff I write now 😅

What's the link to your book?!

Sort:  

So nice to see you here! I resisted handling the Rosalind Franklin story with a feminist slant, although the notes of the men involved demonstrate a certain misogyny. This story was so stark that feminism would just cloud the issue--it's a flashpoint for a lot of people.
There was a time I read a lot of Utopian stuff (not Utopian-io, but the classical Utopians). If only...
I appreciated Merton's discussion. There were other papers I read on the subject, but a blog can only be so long :)
As for my book....
It's kind of personal, and yet objective. I'm not sure I want you to know that much about me :) but here it is: A Lupus Handbook: These Are the Faces of Lupus
I see you have a new blog up...heading over there tonight.

Yeah I know what you mean, about revealing too much. I'm like that myself.

Well I inherited my dad's autoimmune disease as well, so we have something in common there! It was very confusing at first. You know, till you figure out that you need to become an active patient instead of relying on doctors. I've been using exercise and, more importantly, diet to treat myself. (My rheumatologist never even mentioned diet, and he's one of the most highly credentialed in Cyprus.) With the help of those two things and plenty of self-learning, I've been slowly but steadily dropping my pill dose ever since I was diagnosed a decade or so ago. I hit a plateau about a year ago, but glad to say I surpassed it 2 weeks ago! Might be all the fish I'm eating. Dunno if it's the omega 3s (that seems to be in doubt by the new research) or the fact that they're caught wild and frozen on the spot. In that sense, fish is probably the most authentic food (hasn't changed a lot in the last 100,000 years! unlike almost all our other meat and vegetables and fruits which were all changed by human hands) as well as quite cheap, especially if you're eating the smaller fish (which is good mercury-wise). The average person can't really hunt live animals, and they wouldn't want to either. But wild fish is available for all. I'm also following a low fodmap diet, which could also be responsible for the plateau-overcoming.

Well, I'll be reading your book. And you have quite a lot of them I see!

I went through a book-writing phase... I think it's over :)

After a while, after a certain age (I'm at that age), you just kind of take it in stride. Make the accommodations necessary, keep a trustworthy doctor in reserve, and enjoy life. I wrote that book when I was in a different frame of mind. Had to get it out of my system. Also thought I could help a few people. I think I did.

You're right to take matters in your own hands. We can't choose our genes, but we sure can choose the way we live.

I read you blog... I will be commenting, you know :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39