Sort:  

I think that may be true, but I'm not sure traditional meditation involves working toward a goal. I can't speak with confidence about this.
When I'm working I also am absorbed, completely. We may both be in the state of 'flow' when we're working, but that actually affects different parts of the brain than meditation, as I understand it.

I think meditation does have a goal. If it didn't, the mind would wander. Instead, (beginner) monks are instructed to contemplate the transitive nature of thoughts and desires etc. But that's a contradiction in Buddhism itself, much like the one that has them aim at Nirvana and non-attachment at the same time.

A goal...yes. I guess it would be impossible to act sentiently without some objective. I think what I mean is, meditation is not a tool to increase our efficacy in the world. Of course, I haven't studied the subject, so I speak out of ignorance.
I am pleased though that you spotted right away the shallow character of my digital "painting". Unlike most artists, these artists wouldn't mind, though. They'd be pleased that the exercise brought me satisfaction and even gave me a few moments of contemplation. Licensing by copyright would have astonished these painters.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54