You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rising the Earth's temperature... with dark matter

in #steemstem5 years ago

I hope you are sharing these pictures with your son. I can imagine that he finds them hilarious. This one would get a vote from me even if there was no blog attached:)

The Take Home Message really helped. If I understand you correctly, the heat generated by dark matter (if that does happen) should be consistent.

Earth gets a constant wind of dark matter that goes through the planet

If that's true, then Greta can relax. Alarm over global warming addresses the rate at which the planet is warming. That has to involve other, less consistent factors--like the Industrial Revolution and fossil fuel consumption. So, climate change still is a human-mediated issue, and not a cosmic inevitability (maybe?).

Well, anyway, you see I have no problem speculating. I love these forays into the possible but not known. The pictures really spice it up.

Sort:  

Both my sons have seen the picture before the post came out. They enjoyed it, especially the big one (that is currently extremely concern with climate change and environnemental issues).

The Take Home Message really helped. If I understand you correctly, the heat generated by dark matter (if that does happen) should be consistent.

Exactly: dark matter cannot generate more heat than observed.

However, this has nothing to do with the wind of dark matter. We know the distribution of dark matter in the Milky Way, and the solar system moves in the Milky Way. This is where the wind comes from.

If that's true, then Greta can relax. Alarm over global warming addresses the rate at which the planet is warming. That has to involve other, less consistent factors--like the Industrial Revolution and fossil fuel consumption. So, climate change still is a human-mediated issue, and not a cosmic inevitability (maybe?).

The entire point of the post is that... this has nothing to do with global warming. The latter is connected to many parameters, one of them being the planet outgoing heat flow. Here, we take this heat flow as measured, and we make sure the dark matter contribution to it is small enough. Therefore, there is absolutely no way this would change anything to the climate change affair (since the heat flow parameter is not modified, otherwise the dark matter model is ruled out since contradicting data).

I hope this clarifies a little bit. Please let me know!

I think I do understand...as much as I can understand particle physics. Thank you! Fascinating.
I didn't realize you had two children. I was sure they would love pictures :)

I have even more secrets :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59838.11
ETH 2384.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51