You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The History of Music: Pythagoras' Theory of Music

in #steemstem5 years ago

Your piece sent me off to second and third sources to explore tangential questions that occurred to me. I'm probably way off base, but as I read about the symmetry of spaces between notes, I thought of something @lemouth described: the law of symmetry in physics. It seems that music corresponds to the same principle. Or at least, it seems that way.

I found a few articles, this one the easiest (for me) to understand. As I read, I realize that, while there is certainty about specific principles and laws, there is also uncertainty.

A fascinating piece. Even if my questions lead me astray, I'm learning as I go:)

Sort:  

You know you're going down the rabbit hole when you're reading from sites that look like they're from the '90s =P

But it's awesome that I was the cause of digging deeper, I found this super difficult to explain what I feel is a fairly simple idea, but in terms anyone can understand without any knowledge of music at all. I guess its always a challenge to communicate a profession in a way a child can understand... Need practice!

(Not that you know nothing, but just generally for everyone)

As for uncertainty, well, it's actually technically impossible for these frequencies to match perfectly as I imply above, for reasons of physics I'll get to in a much later post, but that whole area is pretty fascinating

I'm always modest in my expectations. And open. There's no downside to experience, here or elsewhere, that way.

The music of the elementary particles? :)

Sounds beautiful to me 🎼 😇

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44