You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Precision computer simulations for particle colliders - a window on my research

in #steemstem5 years ago

I never took calculus and only took an introductory course in physics, and yet I can appreciate your accomplishment. You have systematized predictions so that certainty (not absolute) can be dramatically increased. Or am I mistaken?
Wow! I know you don't get rewarded financially commensurate with what you are contributing to science--contributing to all of us. But what it must feel like to achieve such a thing.
I was reading a few nights ago about Keppler...actually, Galileo, Keppler and Tycho Brahe. As read I about their uneven steps toward calculating planetary distances and rotations, I thought of you and your place on the continuum of science.
Thank you for what you do and for sharing your insights with people like me. I feel like more than a passive witness to human progress.
I will try to read your paper, though I'm not sure I will understand much of it. But, you never know...

Sort:  

Thanks for passing by and writing such a nice comment.

You have systematized predictions so that certainty (not absolute) can be dramatically increased

This is a correct one-sentence summary: we (I was not alone in this adventure) added new ingredients to an existing code so that predictions for any process could be achieved systematically. Moreover, these predictions are accompanied with small error bars (in particle physics, we also have theory error bars).

I was reading a few nights ago about Keppler...actually, Galileo, Keppler and Tycho Brahe.

Ohhh I should not be compared with those people. Definitely not. I am relatively no one, and they are big names and key scientists of our world!

I will try to read your paper, though I'm not sure I will understand much of it. But, you never know...

Feel free too and do not hesitate to ask me questions! I will be more than happy to answer (also on discord).

Your modesty is becoming, however...measurement was at the heart of Kepler's contributions (if I understand this correctly)

After Tycho died, Kepler used his measurements to improve Copernicus's theory of the Universe

And I remember reading about Marie Curie, and how she painstakingly measured minute quantities of pitchblende in her radium studies.

The importance of accurate measurement cannot be overstated. So, yes, you've put another link in the chain that reaches back to first inquiring ancients who looked up into the skies. Advancing wonderment to understanding required measurement, accurate measurement. Forgive me for being impressed by your work :)

I will read that paper and ask questions if I understand enough to do that :))

Well, I cannot just let anyone compare me with those big names. Really. But it is appreciated.

However, one important point is that my work addresses accurate theoretical predictions, because in particle physics, theory predictions also come with an error bar (as one always needs to approximate the full calculation that cannot be done exactly).

I will read that paper and ask questions if I understand enough to do that :))

Please do so!

well, if you go back far enough, further than galileo even, the alchemists of old did nothing but empirical research, would have been quacks now but in essence went over whole combinations to gather datasets, including some of my personal heroes like Theo Paracelsus they were very very early pioneers ... in chemistry ... in biology, in lots of things :)

Theo Paracelsus. I have to look that up.
Measuring and collecting data...it doesn't seem glamorous, but is the heart of good research.
Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62601.60
ETH 2452.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64