You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is the UK heading into its first ‘life expectancy recession’?

in #steemstem6 years ago

Thought-provoking. My mind started going in different directions--the first was pollution. That would take a lot of analysis. Then I thought, maybe the move toward hospice and palliative care cuts off a few weeks of agonizing life for people who are terminal--but that turned out to be not at all true. Turns out, for many conditions, surprisingly, hospice and palliative care actually seems to extend life. That's fuel for another great blog :)
This is the sort of write-up that will have me reading further this afternoon. Good job.

Sort:  

Hi @agmoore,

Thank you, very kind of you to say so. Hmm, possibly, I’d not thought of pollution. From a quick search however I found this graph which reinforces my initial thoughts (my initial thought are always: things are getting better) on this, that air pollution is getting better in this country. But I honestly don’t know too much about it, I’ll look into it for a post some time. It’s a massive issue in China though, as your link suggest.

That hospice care study looks interesting, such an overlooked area of health care. Another factor that makes me realise just how complicated the healthcare picture is.

Also did you see this post from @lemouth last week. It would appear that you are currently the second most engaged member of the steemstem community based on a reputation system they’re developing. Congratulations, very well earned!

Thank you for that reference to @lemouth's blog. I feel invisible on Steem, and there I am, with a quantifiable presence :)

You are definitely not invisible for us @ SteemSTEM :)

🌠
I got into so much trouble in my youth for asking questions. Finally, a place where asking and answering questions is a good thing.
Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97