You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Obesity and the DNA Repair Protein OGG1

in #steemstem6 years ago

You really deserve an award in communication for this one. My understanding of DNA structure is limited to a biology course I took in college years ago and to casual reading I've done since, just to educate myself. And yet, I followed this, every step. And I was engaged. I did feel sorry for the grossly obese mouse.
I wonder how pharmaceutical companies will try to exploit this--engineering a weight-loss drug that messes around with people's mitochondria. This does, however, seem like a promising area of research, if done responsibly and for the right reasons. Obesity ranks right up there with cigarettes as a health hazard.
I didn't find the article long at all. The sort of thing I'll read again.

Sort:  

Thanks for the kind words. While this was a post about a DNA repair protein, the subject ended up being something entirely different. Isn't biology just mysterious?

I did feel sorry for the grossly obese mouse.

Shouldn't have drank all of those milkshakes!

I wonder how pharmaceutical companies will try to exploit this--

Would be great if we could devise a small molecule that could affect OGG1 in such a way so as to help morbidly obese people lose weight? Obesity is such a driver for poor health outcomes, being able to tackle that would be quite beneficial. Would also reduce healthcare costs across the board.

messes around with people's mitochondria.

Whats wrong with tinkering with mitochondria? :D

The sort of thing I'll read again.

Great, I really need to find more time to write. I hope you will enjoy my next attempt as well :)

:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58119.05
ETH 2357.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36