You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: *Trifolium* and its billions of helpers: A holiday themed nitrogen festival

in #steemstem6 years ago

Fascinating. Second time in a month I've read about "mutualism". Interesting how that happens. I'm not a naturalist--just curious and love nature. Was trying to learn about the global distribution of banyan trees. Learned about the highly specialized wasp and its role in ficus propagation. Mutualism. This is such an information-rich post. You did a wonderful job at explaining a complex subject.

Sort:  

I'm glad you liked it. I know a little about fig wasps, is their role in ficus propagation similar?

I'm using the term ficus and fig interchangeably. I rely heavily on sources to get things right. According to the Encyclopedia Britannica: "Ficus, (genus Ficus), a group of about 900 species of trees, shrubs, and vines, commonly called figs". An amazing example of mutualism, isn't it?

I actually had no idea that they were that related. To me, a ficus was always 'that office plant that's everywhere' and a fig was 'that cool tree in the neighbor's yard that makes fruit'.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61263.81
ETH 2676.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59