You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gender gap in salaries, but what about other gaps?

in #steemstem5 years ago (edited)

I take a risk by answering this--nothing to gain, but I do hope to increase understanding by sharing a perspective that is likely unfamiliar to you. It has nothing to do with mathematics--I'm not good at that. It has to do with life.
I'm a woman. Of a certain age. Much older than you.
When I first started to work, I took a job with a philanthropic organization, one well known around the world for 'good work'. I was a secretary--I hadn't earned a degree yet, so that was fine. But after a while, I noticed a few things. Everybody who was a secretary was female. Everybody who was a 'principle' was male. Coincidence? Maybe. Luck? Maybe. Then I realized where the executive restroom was and where the restroom for support staff was. Interesting, that the executive restroom was the men's room. The restroom for support staff was the women's room. Not a good sign for promotion.
So, as soon as I got my degree I left. I sought employment in what was a traditional male field--because I needed money badly and I figured that was the way to get it.
I was right. I tripled my salary. However, the resentment on that job was more than palpable. It was physical. I was actually told I could not work in certain areas because I was a woman. I was actually assaulted--yes. No details there--I'd rather not.
All I ever wanted from my first job and my second job was to have my gender disregarded. I wanted a fair shot. Didn't want special privileges.
It's a crazy world. Bureaucrats try to remedy a horrible, unjust situation with stupid unjust rules. I agree with you about that. But as a smart person, you should try to come up with a way to make things fair without making things unfair.
I know this will probably anger you. I don't want to do that. I just want you to know where the drive for "equality" comes from.
Of course I'm a feminist. What's my choice? But for me that means, please ignore the fact that I'm female. Just give me a chance...an equal chance. I'll take care of the outcome.

Sort:  

Just give me a chance...an equal chance. I'll take care of the outcome

Full upvote from me for this sentence

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85