You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your Body, Yourself : Part 1

in #steemstem7 years ago (edited)

What a beautiful, beautiful post my dear @zest.

When I saw the title I thought "Oh, I will read it this evening!" but, I just could not resist. It turns out our fields have crossed paths yet again :). Not long ago, I came across this notion

Existence as embodied – we experience the world through our bodies; for, we are our bodies.

one of the concepts of Existential Psychotherapy, which stems from Existential Philosophy.

Of course, this led me to materials that explore the concept of gender, and I was particularly struck by the works of Judith Butler and what she termed Performativity. For example, she claims that
society expects women to look a certain way, have specific tastes and manners which sum up to a collection of actions. In Butler's notion of ‘performativity’ instead of the biological features of the body, what gives meaning to gender and sex is the everyday performance of pre-existing conventions.

I find it fascinating.

I was very glad to see this is Part 1 :) I am looking forward to what you will be bringing to us next.

Have a great week my dear :*

Sort:  

It was only the other day we were chatting about how our fields are so similar:)
I am truly excited to see that you are have enjoyed the first part and has motivated me to start working asap on part 2.
Best wishes for the week ahead!!!
Thank you my dear abi:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38