You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A brief Psychological reflection on Grief, Depression and Personal Growth:

in #steemstem7 years ago (edited)

Hello @rionpistorious :)

This is a well-written post. It is great to see you will be bringing quality material like this to the psychology tag! The first part of your post reminded me of my cousin, who unfortunately remains trapped in the Grieving cycle after her divorce. Going from one stage to another for the past nearly five years.

As for Mr. P, what a great way you found there to illustrate Kubler-Ross’ model. Also, his internal struggles made me think of Carl Roger's notion of incongruence which is the conflict between the organismic self and the self-concept.

It is indeed a helpful outlook to see grieving as a tool! :)

All the best,

Sort:  

@abigail-dantes I was looking forward to your reply! :)

It took me a long time to fully write down my ideas regarding this particular topic. Even now, I feel it is a bit limited and could be better polished. Irrespective, I love these topics and I could speak and share ideas on them for hours.

I wish I had thought of Karl Rogers' ideas on incongruence lol! Thanks for pointing that out. There is a golden thread running through most schools of Psychology and it's amazing when you're able to put all the pieces together! (Like I said, was looking forward to your reply, this suggestion is gold!).

My next post will be on another topic but tie into this one. I'll remember to throw Rogers' model in there somewhere! ;)

I am trully glad to hear you will be discussing this topic further @rionpistorius, and very excited about having your quality contribution to the psychology tag. This is a topic that intersts me very much as well. But, please, I did not mean for you to discuss Carl Rogers in the future. The only reason I mentioned was because of your thorough evaluation of Mr.P’s conflict: how he truly felt & how he thought he should feel. It is beautiful as well as relatable.

I am very humbled to hear you were looking forward to my comment.

All the best 😊🌷

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62195.97
ETH 2415.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64