You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A frightened public scares me: How empathy and fear can distort health policy

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

Yet another fascinating post @nonzerosum :)

As I read this one so many things came across my thoughts. With one of them being the Zika epidemic my country (Brazil) underwent in 2015/2016 (which you also brought up here). Fear was palpable, especially among low-income families.

And, similarly to what happened in the UK, that was an event that widened even more the gap that separates the general public and the government/health system. As news featuring babies born with brain damage were widespread heightening people's level of empathy, causing them to form opinions on that basis.

On putting themselves on those babies' parents shoes, the public expected the government to provide everything from diapers to special facilities for those children. It is definitely a delicate one.

Well, like Bloom so rightly said:

empathy will have to yield to reason if humanity is to have a future

which, of course, doesn't take away the fact that our hearts and thoughts will always go to those families.

All the best to you :D

Sort:  

Yes, I have a Brazilian colleague at the moment that is working on the spread of fear during the Zika epidemic (which sadly looks to bounce back soon). The fear is understandable, if pregnant, however whats strange is the paranoia and conspiracy theories that have sprung up around it. Very delicate like you say.

Are you still living in Brazil? I've some friends in Sao Paulo, I really should try and make it out there sometime soon. It sounds like your countries going through some 'exciting' changes at the moment. So sorry to hear about your museum in Rio that burnt down, such an unnecessary loss.

No, I left Brazil 15 years ago. But, my whole family is still there. I am currently living in Portugal with my husband :) You would like Brazil. But, perhaps not São Paulo, which is like a gigantic, chaotic London. It all depends on what you'd like to see/do though 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09